top of page
Search

Career goals

Updated: Jan 23, 2021

My goals for the next 3 years are to find a placement in Manchester for a year, finish my degree with hopefully a first and get on the masters’ degree at Huddersfield University.

Over the past few years my ideas of what I want to do in the future have changed significantly. Before leaving school I applied for apprenticeships however changed my mind and desired to go and do A levels as I felt that choosing a specific apprenticeship at the age is too restricting and wouldn’t be beneficial later on in life. Starting college I had no intention to apply or go to university and only changed my mind after going to a university open day with my boyfriend. While there I explored a range of course design related and psychology related, courses and fell in love with the idea of continuing my education further and now I am so happy I did so. Choosing interior design at the University of Huddersfield was a big decision and after doing one year I am now hoping to complete a year’s placement and continue to my master’s degree.



After my second year I am hoping to find a placement that will allow me to widen my knowledge and understanding of the design industry. A few places I have already looked into applying for are Cox Jones Interiors, Koncept and Pen Studios. I feel this companies are a place I can see myself working with after I graduate and having looked at past work they have produced, the work they do interests me and excites me for my interior design career. Finding a placement that has the potential to be a place I would be happy to work with post university is a large part effecting my decisions on where to apply, as it would be amazing to be offered a job after my placement once I have finished university. This is because I will have learnt a lot about them as a company and the type of quality of service they offer to customers and I feel as though a first job after university can be a daunting thing to so starting a place that has helped my learn and grow, somewhere I know the people and feel comfortable with would help me settle into a new job easily. The knowledge and experience that I will have gained from my placement year will allow me to produce work to a higher standard and allow me to explore more conceptual ideas that have more innovative ideas going into my final year of university.


In 10 years’ time, I would love to have travelled across the world, working on a wide range of interiors. Working with a company that has good connections overseas that allows me to learn about cultures and adapt designs to them, this be an incredible opportunity to show my design skills and develop further and is what motivates me during my time at university. Over the next few years I am going to continue my search for a company/ companies that offer me this opportunity and develop my work to reflect the types of designs they do, in hope to catch their eye.


Later on in my career, it has always been a dream to be able to design that promotes more sustainable living. I feel an area that is overlooked in the interior design industry is those who may not be able to afford the high end designs and pay loads for someone to design them a space which leads to groups in society living in very standard, unsustainable ways. I would love to design for real people, for real life, with real problems. This is because, I feel, areas of lower class people live in outdate home, shop from unsustainable stores, send their children to schools in places that just do not give the back quality they deserve and this can all be changed with a simple, effective designs. To be able to give those struggling a comfortable place to live can help in so many ways. To be able to help those who will not usually receive the best quality of living, for me, is a great way for me to use my knowledge and design skills to help change this and due to this if I went on to do my masters, a large focus of my work would be focused on this.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page